Akina from Rowan Bamboo Tape Collection

akina-frontThank you so much for finding my blog!

Although this is my first post here, I’m actually not new to the blogsphere. I’ve been blogging for the last year or so at a site called, “Time for Dinner,” where I ramble on about good eats in the Los Angeles suburb. I will continue to post there although probably not regularly, as my interest now lean toward more crafty, less caloric hobbies of knitting and sewing.

I fell in love with knitting about two years ago and recently discovered the fun of sewing. I’m still novice at both but try to devote as much time as I possibly can between my day job to hone my skills. I am embarrassed to admit that I only know how to knit, purl, and k2tg, so I only select patterns that use those three methods but my goal for 2009 is to venture out of my comfort zone and try something new!

akina-backThe first completed project of 2009 is Akina from Rowan Bamboo Tape Collection. I used the Nashua Creative Focus Worsted in Copper instead of the bamboo tape because they were a little more cost effective and I wanted something really warm and cozy for the winter season. I was quite happy with the deep, rich, autumn color the yarn produced but wasn’t all that keen on the overall outcome.

I know it’s partially my fault because I inadvertently knit this couple sizes bigger than my frame but the shoulder part came out way too bulky, making me look very top heavy. I think it looks beautiful on a form but not really on me and I’m not too sure if I would wear it (maybe at home). But I really enjoyed knitting this cardigan and I look forward to knitting other cute garments from the book soon.

Leave a Reply

