Oven Mitt

oven-mittMy sister’s birthday is coming up and I really want to make something handmade for her this year but don’t know exactly what to make. She and I are both very practical people and we only surround ourselves with things with a real purpose so as beautiful as handmade quilts may sound, that’s definitely out as an option. After thinking about it for a while, I narrowed it down to several choices – either some kind of kitchen accessories or organizational gadget.

I decided to take my ideas on a test run this weekend, sewing them up to see how useful they would really be. The first project I tackled was an oven mitt – something I’ve wanted to make for some time now. I own a book called Pretty Little Potholders, which has lots of cute ideas for oven mitts, but I decided to take the idea from Skip to my Lou’s Oven Mitt Pattern for this one because I loved her easy-to-follow instructions. Cindy from the site gave a great advice that I should sandwich the outer fabric, insulating lining and the inner lining together and machine-quilt them before cutting out the pattern. This simple but important advice made the entire process so much more pleasant.

Unfortunately, I did not have Insul-Bright insulated lining on hand so I used a fleece batting instead, which, will not be what I will be using if I were to make this for my sister. Fleece batting is too thin, and while it may be suitable for little things like removing cookies from the baking pan and transferring them to a cooling rack, it’s definitely not appropriate for removing a piping hot casserole from an oven!

I drew the pattern by tracing the outline of the oven mitt I have in the kitchen and I liked how it came out. I may, however, make it a little wider and shorter next time. Oh, and I love Amy Butler’s Belle in Coriander Seagreen!

2 thoughts on “Oven Mitt

  1. Okay I need to update my post with the tips from readers. To make the oven mitt truly heat proof it needs another layer of batting —so you have fabric, Insul-brite, batting, fabric.

    Another great tip: after you quilt your rectangle, go ahead and draw out the pattern, place your two rectangles right sides together, then sew on the outline and then cut out the mitt.

    I hope this helps!

    Cindy

  2. Hi Cindy!

    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and providing helpful hints! That is such an awesome idea to sew the outline before cutting out the mitt! And thanks for pointing out how to make the oven mitt heat proof! I finally got a hold of Insul-brite so I’m so going to try that next time. You’re a genius!

    I LOVE your blog! Thank you for the inspiration!

    Love,
    Hirono

Leave a Reply

