Two-Fold Wallet

two-fold-walletAfter several failed attempts and many yardage of wasted fabrics later, I was able to finally produce the handmade wallet that I’m happy with for my sister’s birthday present! And I finished it in a nick of time because the party is only 12 hours away! It’s already past 2:00 a.m. and I know I should be going to sleep, but Titanic is on television and I can’t turn it off, even though I own the movie and have watched it more times than I can remember. I know I’m going to regret this when I have to wake up in few hours to make gazillion cupcakes for the party but oh well, I simply can’t resist the ultimate chic flick!

The fabric that I ordered last week finally arrived this afternoon and inside the box was a yard of Peltex II Two Sided Fusible Ultra Firm Stabilizer, which, hands down, is my greatest craft discovery thus far. I was first introduced to this product while reading Amy Butler’s In Stitches, where most of her patterns called for a material called, “timtex.” After some research, it turned out that Timex has been discontinued but has been replaced by a similar product called Peltex. Since I’ve never used Timtex before, I can’t really compare the two but I can say that I’m happy with Peltex and how this material single-handedly gives the finished product a very polished look.

two-fold-wallet-closedFor the wallet, I used the Fresh Aire Sprigs Green fabric by B.J. Lantz, which I absolutely, absolutely adore! It’s so appropriate for spring and although my sister has a more eclectic taste, I think she’ll really like this subtle, mature design. For this one, I decided to make it two-fold, instead of three like the one I made before. I was initially going to make it three-fold, but I changed my mind after realizing that having the extra side might make the wallet too bulky (especially with the firm stabilizer). I really loved the flap for the magnetic snaps because this allows the wallet to be filled up with credit cards (six total slots), cash, checkbook and a pen without worrying about everything flying out!

I can’t wait to give it to my sister and see what she says! I hope she likes it! Oh, and inside will be a gift certificate to Trader Joe’s (our yearly ritual — yeps, we’re practical people), which I knoooow she’ll like!

Leave a Reply

