The “Almost” Birthday Gift

handbagI used to have trouble picking out gifts for friends and family. I never knew what to get them and ended up getting something totally safe, like a book or a journal. Although they are nice and practical, they were often impersonal and very generic.

My mother, always the wise one, suggested a gift for others should always be something that I actually would like and use myself. The chances are, she said, if I like it, my friends will enjoy it too. Since then, I’ve been pretty much right on target when it comes to gifts, and my friends and family seem to enjoy what they get on their special days — or at least they’re pretending it well!

(On the side note, my mother, despite her own advice, gives us the most random gifts, ever.  Two Christmases ago, I received a nose-hair clipper from her.  Perhaps someone was in a need of a personal grooming set …?)

My friend’s birthday is coming up next week and I decided to make her a shoulder bag that she can use for work and play. Using my mother’s advice, I selected the fabric, shape and size that I too would love and tackled the project as if I were making a bag for myself. But THAT was the problem because after I finished it, I fell so madly in love with the bag that I decided to keep for myself.

(I promise, I’ll make my friend another one before next week!)

Should Bag
Fabric used: Amy Butler Daily Chain Demo Rosey Navy (Perhaps I should just change my blog title to, “Another project I made using Amy Butler’s fabric”!).  For lining:  Black and white floral fabric from JoAnn’s.
Pattern: My own
Recipient: Me. muhahaha 🙂

4 thoughts on “The “Almost” Birthday Gift

  1. I am so in love with Amy Butler fabric and her Daisy Chain collection has been such a temptation for me. The bag is absolutely adorable. I don’t blame you one bit for keeping it! I would have done the same thing. And nose hair trimmers? That just cracks me up!!

  2. Yep, nose hair trimmers! That’s my family 🙂 Yeah, I love the Daisy Chain collection too! At first, I wasn’t sure how this design will come out as a bag (I imagined it would be more suited for an apron or something) but I’m really happy with how it came out!

  3. Pingback: Notepad Cover « Happy Monday Project

  4. Pingback: Pink Clutch Bag for Noelle’s Birthday « Happy Monday Project

Leave a Reply

