Afternoon of Baking: Magnolia Chocolate Cupcakes

magnolia-chocolate-cupcakes

I spent the afternoon baking cupcakes for my friend’s birthday. I’ve been so consumed with my new craft obsessions that I’ve neglected baking for a long time, but as I stood by the kitchen counter and dusted off my pink Kitchenaid mixer, I realized how much I’ve missed it!

I’m a self-proclaimed cupcake addict (my boyfriend can attest to this – he rushes me to nearby cupcake shops frequently when I’m attacked with the withdrawal) and I can’t get enough of those little sweet morsels but today’s designer cupcakes alas Sprinkles and Dots, although excellent, can cost a fortune! That’s why I try to bake them at home as much as I can, especially for occasions like a friend’s birthday.

I used a recipe from a book, More from Magnolia, by Allysa Torey, owner of New York’s famous bakery. I selected Magnolia Chocolate Cupcakes with its Cream Cheese Icing. With pastel flower made out of fondant sitting pretty on top of each cupcake, they are as cute as the ones you find at hip cupcake shops! (I wrote about the day of baking on my other blog, here).

No dessert represents spring the way cupcakes do 🙂

magnolia-chocolate-cupcakes-2

By the way, I was able to make a total of 30 cupcakes from the batch (the recipe said two dozens but I was able to make more) so I was able to bake almost $113 worth of Magnolia Cupcakes ($3.75 x 30 = $112.50) for about $20 I spent on the ingredients! Maybe I should really think about going into a bakery business!

P.S. (April 6, 2009):   I’m happy to report that my friend, Noelle, enjoyed the cupcakes!  Hooray 🙂

cupcake-stand1

7 thoughts on “Afternoon of Baking: Magnolia Chocolate Cupcakes

  1. Hirono, I used the same recipe to make a cake for Rocco’s birthday, and mine didn’t come out as beautiful as yours. The icing is Super Sweet and delicious from Magnolia Bakery! These are beautiful!

  2. Hi Diahann! Rocco must have loved the cake and the icing! Total SUGAR! I agree — the frosting from Magnolia Bakery is amazing. I usually eat the cake for the frosting 🙂 Thanks for the kind words on the cake. !

  3. Pingback: Lovely Afternnon: Baby Shower « Happy Monday Project

  4. You are the true renaissance woman! Go girl with your awesome-ness! Career, baking beautiful cupcakes, knitting, making gorgeous purses…the list can go on and on! We went to Magnolia during our New York trip last year and my girls absolutely love love love their cupcakes! You did a bang up job with your cupcakes and they truly look amazing!

  5. Hi Mai! Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂 So nice to see you here.

    You are so sweet! Me, a renaissance woman? My goodness, that’s too kind. I’m just letting my inner sweatshop worker go to work .. hee hee. I love doing crafty things — it makes me feel productive and creative. So wonderful to hear that your lovely girls loved the Magnolia Cupcakes! That place is definitely a place to visit when you’re in the Greenwich Village!

    Love,
    Hirono

Leave a Reply

