Journal Cover

journal-cover-closed

I was looking through my old photo albums the other day and realized that it was four yeas ago next month that I traveled to Europe! I had decided to go on the trip solo because I really needed to do some soul searching at that time in my life, and felt that the only way I could do that was to face fear, uncertainty, joy and all the world’s unknowns on my own. The trip was truly one of the most exciting and valuable journeys of my life.

Aside from stuffing my face with some of the best-tasting feasts in the world, I found joy in discovering cute little cafés in every city to relax and write for hours. Instead of hauling my PC everywhere, I wrote the old-fashioned way – with a journal and a pen. I carried the journal my friend gave me as a bon voyage gift and documented every taste, smell and sound that rushed into my soul.

journal-cover-no-cover1

It was then that I discovered Kraft refill journals from Barnes and Noble and their true awesomeness (my favorite is size 3, which is 5″ x 7″)! Their sturdy cardboard front and back covers keep the shape well and the smooth paper surface allows the pen to glide effortlessly. They are so amazing I haven’t used any other journals since. (Note: And the journal goes very well with pens from Muji, hands down the best writing utinsils in the world.)

The journal design is, however, pretty bare, without those fancy leather journal covers (they are, afterall, a refill). Since I’m not that big of a leather person, I decided to make one myself with a lovely fabric to jazz it up a bit!

The fabric I had ordered from Purl Soho arrived this week and decided to turn this lovely pink-and-blue animal print fabric into the cover. I’m so in love with this design that I was eager to turn it into something … anything!

journal-cover-side

This is relatively a quick and easy project but the challenge was, for me, to ensure that the cover fit the book perfectly. I have a tendency to want to make things slightly larger to give a little wiggle room but I resisted the urge this time and cut the fabric exactly to the dimensions that I had measured before starting the project. The effort paid off and the cover fit like a glove!

journal-cover-tag

(I put my label on the inside cover)

Journal Cover
Fabric: Magenta Menagerie Damask from Etsuko Furuya’s Eshino collections
Pattern: My own
Recipient: Secret

4 thoughts on “Journal Cover

  1. Hi Trish! OMG, isn’t the fabric just too cute for words? If you look closely at the design, you’ll find skulls! Thanks for the compliment on the journal cover! And definitely check out the journal — I’m sure you’ll love it. And it’s only like $5!

  2. may i please order one as my current journal is about to run out… i write daily and it’s a very special ritual for me & your cute cover would definitely be even extra special. (i want one exactly like this one with pink bg to match my organizer.) with lots of skulls and squirrels! 🙂 xoxo

  3. Hi Saori! Sure! I just gave this one to N-san but I’ll definitely make you another one! Can you wait two more weeks and I promise that I will make one with the same pig fabric 🙂

    Love,
    Hirono

Leave a Reply

