In Search of Perfect Potholders

potholder-grab1

My craft obsession invaded the kitchen today with handmade potholders. They are still a work in progress, as I’m making few different styles and shapes to see what works best.  Here are the photos of one of the several potholders I made this afternoon.

Since they are intended to be a functional potholder, I wanted to make sure that they actually stood up to the heat of a piping casserole coming out of the oven or rotating the baking sheet in a 375 degree oven. I sandwiched the cotton fabrics between the cotton batting and Insul-Bright to make them truly heat safe, and machine quilted to make it easier for gripping. I think having the batting and the insulated material was sufficient, as I was able to hold on to the hot iron without the heat penetrating the potholder.

potholder-with-pot1

I want to come up with the perfect pattern since I think these potholders make wonderful housewarming and birthday gifts for cooks! I’ll keep you posted!

2 thoughts on “In Search of Perfect Potholders

  1. Have you find the perfect potholderpattern yet?
    Hello I am Jessica and from Holland and when I was googling on potholders I came to your site. What a wonderful craft you make.
    For a small gift I want to make a set of potholders to my friends (quilt bee friends), but it should be a nice pattern and not the straight one.
    So, if you can advice me…
    Keep up the nice work.
    Regards, Jessica

  2. Hi Jessica! Thank you so much for stopping by my blog (all the way from Holland!) and leaving me a comment! I’m still in the search of the perfect potholder! I will definitely share it with you once I create a nice pattern!

    By the way, your blog is fabulous, Jessica!

Leave a Reply

